May 18, 2024  
General Catalog 2023-2024 
General Catalog 2023-2024 [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Many students want to study areas not covered by traditional degree programs to increase professional competence, to acquire paraprofessional training, to change careers or to promote personal enrichment. A baccalaureate or master’s degree, or second baccalaureate or second major may be inappropriate for them, yet they may still deserve recognition for their work. To meet the needs of these students the university has established three kinds of certificates:

  • The Certificate of Completion is awarded for successfully completing a planned educational experience (workshop, conference, short course, or seminar) designed for specific academic objectives. Awarded certificates of completion are not currently posted on the Fresno State official transcript.
  • The Certificate of Special Study is awarded for successfully completing a structured program of educational experiencesof at least twelve semester units, determined in advance by a department or school, and consisting of upper division(100-199) courses, professional (300-399) courses, and related activities.
  • The Certificate of Advanced Study is a certificate program of special study at the postbaccalaureate level and is awarded for successfully completing a structured program of at least twelve semester units of graduate (200-299) courses, upper-division (100-199) courses, and professional (300-399) courses determined inadvance by a department or school. Students must be eligible for unclassified, postbaccalaureate standing. 


Certificates of Special Study

Certificates of Advanced Study